Skip navigation


On Monday I had the chance to appear as a guest on G4’s Attack of the Show and debate the merits (as it were) of virtual world Second Life. I’ve been critical of the service so I was the “con” to SL blogger Wagner James Au’s “pro.” You can see the video below. It ended up being a fun segment –AOTS is a cool show and it was the kind of debate you’re not going to get on other programs.

Au and I went back and forth a bit on the old question of how many people really use Second Life, a topic guys like Clay Shirky have already roasted and stuck a fork in. It seems to me whether you use Au’s numbers or anyone else’s, they’re still really small, especially when compared to other virtual worlds. World of Warcraft has got 8 million active, paying subscribers. Second Life is comparatively tiny regardless of whether it’s got 30,000 or 300,000.

I’m hopeful I’ll get the chance to debate the service in more detail at some point –as I said in the clip, I think Second Life is a really interesting idea, and could lead to something truly amazing –I’m just not convinced that for now it’s anything other than a boring waste of time.

(www.blog.forbes.com)

Leave a Reply

