Skip navigation


By LAWRENCE VAN GELDER

Who wants Harry Potter dead? No, not just his evil nemesis Voldemort. The latest death wish comes from none other than Daniel Radcliffe, who portrays the boy wizard on screen. Discussing J. K. Rowling’s “Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows,” the saga’s seventh and concluding volume, scheduled for publication on July 21, two days before Mr. Radcliffe turns 18 and has access to an estimated $35 million fortune, he told The Observer magazine in London what he thought would happen to the character he plays. Will he die? “I think I will,” said Mr. Radcliffe. “I sort of hope I will, really. I think that’s really the only way Jo can end it,” he said, referring to Ms. Rowling, “if Harry and Voldemort . . . Maybe one can only die if the other one dies. I don’t know that for sure. But I’m quite looking forward to doing a death scene, if I get that opportunity.”

Leave a Reply

